Six of the best

Carrying on where I left off, looking back to 2008…

15 June 2008. Today I drove down the A361 to the village of Upper Wardington in Oxfordshire, to walk a route which I hadn’t done for almost a year, my ‘Oxfordshire border walk’. As always I was rewarded with superb views and met a variety creatures from beetles to bullocks. The walk itself took about two and half hours with all the photo stops, and at the end of it I decided I wasn’t ready to go home. So I headed for Fawsley Park, where I searched for wildlife alongside the lakes, and then went on to Everdon Stubbs. Finally I called in on another favourite wildlife site before getting home about 8 hours after I had originally set off.

Highlights of my day included observations of a family of coal tits (permanently hungry youngsters keeping their parents busy finding food for them amongst the branches) and a pair of linnets on the Oxfordshire border walk; great crested grebes and a green woodpecker at Fawsley; a pair of buzzards soaring and calling directly above me at Everdon Stubbs, and a close encounter with a roe deer buck.

I took quite a few photos while I was out and about, and thought I would share half a dozen of my favourites – six of the best.

My ‘reception committee’ at Wardington, an inquisitive herd of bullocks.

A male thick-legged flower beetle. The female of the species does not have the swollen femora visible on this chap’s hind legs. This is the first of two insects I found within a few metres of each other during my Oxfordshire border walk, the second one being…

… a female scorpion fly. The rather fearsome-looking piercing ‘beak’ is used for feeding on the juices of dead insects (including those caught in spiders’ webs). The end of the male’s abdomen has a projection which looks rather like a scorpion’s sting.

The flower-head of a giant hogweed plant viewed against the backdrop of a beautiful blue sky.

One of several different species of damselflies which I saw and photographed at Fawsley Park, possibly a female blue-tailed damselfly, Ischnura elegans.

A view across the largest of Fawsley’s lakes, the aptly named Big Waters.

This entry was posted in Wildlife and countryside. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Six of the best

  1. Judy Kennett says:

    A very interesting post with terrific photographs:)

Leave a Reply

